2020 Poetry Out Loud State and Jurisdictional Champions

In 2020 the Poetry Out Loud national finals were cancelled due to COVID-19, and several state/jurisdictional finals were either cancelled or held virtually.

Alabama—Katarina Agnew, New Century Technology High School (Huntsville)

Alaska—Asya Gipson, West Anchorage High School

Arizona—Sylvia Dale, Ganado High School (Ganado)

Arkansas—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

California—Eden Getahun, C.K. McClatchy High School (Sacramento)

Colorado—Kiya Cockrell, Fountain Valley School of Colorado (Colorado Springs)

Connecticut—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Delaware—Camille Decker, Sanford School (Hockessin)

District of Columbia—Kayla Park, Washington Latin Public Charter School

Florida—Zhaedyn Hodge Siggars, Howard W. Blake High School (Tampa)

Georgia—Grayson Nour, Whitefield Academy (Mableton)

Hawaii—Erisan Awaya, Mid-Pacific Institute (Honolulu)

Idaho—Kiernan Ellis, Kuna High School (Kuna)

Illinois—Charles Hsu, Deerfield High School (Deerfield)

Indiana—Dalia Elkhatib, Franklin Central High School (Indianapolis)

Iowa—Amya Thornton, Holmes Junior High School (Cedar Falls)

Kansas—Santiago Vasquez, Salina South High School (Salina)

Kentucky—Skye Kozloski, Allen County-Scottsville High School (Scottsville)

Louisiana—Jacob Simmons, Covington High School (Covington)

Maine—Ella Shaffer, Rangeley Lakes Regional School (Rangeley)

Maryland—Randolph Smith, Concordia Prepatory High School (Hampton)

Massachusetts (MA)—Anya Barrett, Worcester Technical High School (Worcester)

Michigan—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Minnesota—Jay Mackbee, Washburn High School (Minneapolis)

Mississippi—Morgan Love, Mississippi School of the Arts (Brookhaven)



Missouri—Mary Margaret Hughes, Central High School (Springfield)

Montana—Isabella Shinn, Flathead High School (Kalispell)

Nebraska—Juan De La Cruz, Gordon-Rushville High School (Gordon)

Nevada—Eakjot Sekhorn, Robert McQueen High School (Reno)

New Hampshire—Sydney Kilgore, Concord High School

New Jersey—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

New Mexico—Zoe Sloan Callan, Native American Community Academy (Albuquerque)

New York—Zaida Rio Polanco, White Plains High School

North Carolina—Marrianna Flores, Atkins Academic & Technology High School (Winston-Salem)

North Dakota—Maria Kalb, Saint Mary's Central High School (Bismarck)

Ohio—Austin Smith, Bexley High School (Bexley)

Oklahoma—Piper Lloyd, Bethany High School (Bethany)

Oregon—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Pennsylvania—Steven R. File, York Suburban High School (York)

Puerto Rico—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Rhode Island—Nayeli Santana Vazquez, Central Falls High School

South Carolina—Taylor Wade, Andrew Jackson High School (Kershaw)

South Dakota—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Tennessee—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Texas—Elizabeth Barnes, Saint Constantine School (Houston)

U.S. Virgin Islands—Angelica Sterling, St. John Seventh-Day Adventist School

Utah—Olivia Slaughter, Salt Lake Center for Science Education (Salt Lake City)

Vermont—State Final cancelled due to COVID-19.

Virginia—Katherine Nguyen, Colonial Forge High School (Stafford)

Washington—Jordan Mattox, Mead High School (Spokane)

West Virginia—Rhéa Ming, Spring Mills High School

Wisconsin—Daeja Loew, Altoona High School

Wyoming—Abbi Wingfield, Thunder Basin High School (Gillette)